Bartra: “It was the hardest 15 minutes of my life”

Marc Bartra has revealed how tough the immediate moments were after the explosion on Borussia Dortmund’s bus before their Champions League quarter-final first leg against Monaco

 

Despite saying “it was the hardest 15 minutes of my life”, the 26 year-old nobly stated: “when I look at my wrist, swollen and badly wounded, you know what I feel? Pride”

German Police have detained a man they think have “Islamic links” following the attack.

abcnetau

Picture credit to abc.net.ac

“I think that the shock is decreasing more and more and, at the same time, it adds to the desire to live, to fight, to work, to laugh, to cry, to feel, to love, to believe, to play, to train, to continue to enjoy my people, loved ones, companions, my passion, to defend, to smell the grass as I do before the game starts and motivate me.

“The only thing I ask is for everyone to live in peace and to leave behind the wars.”

The match was controversially rescheduled for the day after, with Dortmund manager Thomas Tuchel claiming he or none of his players were consulted about the decision.

Monaco won the game 3-2.

Bartra was released from hospital on Saturday, 5 days after the attack.

Debate Points

Should the game have been played so soon?

Should there be more security for more high profile games?

What does this mean in the context of the tie?

Leave a Reply

